Want to make a remarkable product? Listen for these 2 things

If you want to make a product that gets talked about, listen up for these 2 things:

  1. “This [blank] makes me so mad!” – Fill in the blank with any product. Some of the best products ever made solve a common frustration (the ones that make you say, “Why didn’t I think of that!”). For example, if 80% of all car seats are improperly installed, do we need more/better education on how to properly install them or a radically different approach to car seats? I choose the latter.
  2. “That’s the way everyone does it.” – You can’t make it big while living in the shadows or playing follow the leader. Make your earbuds white. Provide “Fanatical Support” in a tech world plagued with outsourced and non-human service. Go for the opposite and stand out.

Happy Thursday everyone!

2 Responses

  1. This is so simple yet incredibly true. I am now incubating a company and this fits our new company and product exactly. Nice post and I will be back often.

  2. GL,

    Thanks for stopping by. Let me know how the incubation goes.

    By the way, GL’s post Just Saying should be required reading for all men.

Leave a comment