The recession humanity test

A recession can be a good test of our humanity. It forces us to decide to either take the time to talk with our customers as real human beings or revert to survival tactics of taking advantage, deceitfulness, hidden fees and watering down our services in order to endure the hard times. Either way, it looks like a rough road lies before us.

If you aren’t in the habit yet, now is the time to contribute to a meaningful dialogue with your customers. And if you are playing along at home, I’m not talking about a “How can I set up an automatic wallet transfer of your money into my bank account?” sort of monologue; but rather a “How can I be of any help to you?” sort of dialogue. It’s our choice whether we’ll throw customers in front of the bus to try and smooth out the bumpy ride or to work together with our customers, side-by-side, to dodge what may what lie ahead.

By the way, if you have forgotten how to speak like a human, I highly recommend starting here.

4 Responses

  1. Bill,

    I downloaded yor blog on my yahoo home page.God
    knows our economy needs help. I’m living proof

  2. Paul,

    I feel for you. Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation. I hope you continue to do so.

  3. Just ask. And then actually listen to the answer.

    It’s amazing how simple it is!

    btw – I’ve got an exciting Human Talk guest post Friday, so stay tuned.

  4. Chris,

    Simple, but over thought and under used.

    I’ll be sure to stop by and check out the new Human Talk post.

Leave a Reply

